Linklaters Latest News

Inhalt abgleichen News
News
Letztes Update: vor 20 Minuten 17 Sekunden

Linklaters strengthens corporate practice in Japan with hire of Tracy Whiriskey

Fr, 01.04.2022 - 04:20

Linklaters today announced that Tracy Whiriskey has joined as a partner in the firm’s corporate practice, based in Tokyo. Tracy has extensive experience in energy transition, the digital economy, infrastructure funds, insurance and other rapidly emerging business areas.

Tracy joins Linklaters from Ashurst where she headed up the corporate M&A practice in Tokyo and the insurance sector in Asia. Prior to joining Ashurst in July 2016, Tracy worked at Clifford Chance for over 10 years.

Linklaters’ Asia Head of Corporate Sophie Mathur, commented:

“We are pleased to welcome Tracy into our corporate practice. Tracy’s extraordinary range and depth of experience will strengthen our capability and client service offering in Japan and across the region.”

Linklaters’ Japan Managing Partner Peter Frost, added:

“We are thrilled to welcome Tracy to our Tokyo office. Tracy’s expertise across a wide range of sectors will help us to continue to support Japanese corporates and foreign companies on their strategic outbound and inbound investments.”

Linklaters strengthens corporate practice in Japan with hire of Tracy Whiriskey

Fr, 01.04.2022 - 04:14

Linklaters today announced that Tracy Whiriskey has joined as a partner in the firm’s corporate practice, based in Tokyo. Tracy has extensive experience in energy transition, the digital economy, infrastructure funds, insurance and other rapidly emerging business areas.

Tracy joins Linklaters from Ashurst where she headed up the corporate M&A practice in Tokyo and the insurance sector in Asia. Prior to joining Ashurst in July 2016, Tracy worked at Clifford Chance for over 10 years.

Linklaters’ Asia Head of Corporate Sophie Mathur, commented:

“We are pleased to welcome Tracy into our corporate practice. Tracy’s extraordinary range and depth of experience will strengthen our capability and client service offering in Japan and across the region.”

Linklaters’ Japan Managing Partner Peter Frost, added:

“We are thrilled to welcome Tracy to our Tokyo office. Tracy’s expertise across a wide range of sectors will help us to continue to support Japanese corporates and foreign companies on their strategic outbound and inbound investments.”

Linklaters teams up with ACLU of Louisiana in lawsuit against unconstitutional policing

Mo, 28.03.2022 - 17:01

Linklaters has partnered with the American Civil Liberties Union of Louisiana (ACLU) to file a federal lawsuit in the District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana against the St. Tammany Parish Sheriff’s Office for unconstitutional policing. 

The lawsuit has been filed on behalf of two Black men in Bogalusa, Louisiana who were racially profiled and unjustly interrogated by deputies from the St. Tammany Parish Sheriff’s Office. The ACLU’s complaint asserts violations of their rights under the Fourth Amendment, Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Louisiana Constitution, and Louisiana state common and statutory laws for the officers’ unlawful and unreasonable seizures, unlawful detention, and the racial discrimination suffered by both plaintiffs.

Adam Lurie, Head of Linklaters’ U.S. Dispute Resolution practice, commented, “We are proud to support the ACLU’s Justice Lab in this important pro bono matter and in its continued fight against the daily injustices people of color face in this country. Unconstitutional policing and racial profiling are wrong, dehumanizing, and harmful to our democracy.”

Nora Ahmed, ACLU of Louisiana’s Legal Director added, “This case demonstrates a continued prevalence of what appears to be nothing more than a pattern of racial profiling in Louisiana. Our clients were stopped in a predominantly white area by officers from an agency that has a documented track record of targeting Black people. This is a textbook case of why people took to the streets in 2020 and why, sadly, this nation and our state still have so far to go.”

The Linklaters team was led by U.S. associates Ellen Gong and Elizabeth Raulston with assistance from associates Nolan Bouchane, Jarrett Field, Zoe Lillian, Lillian Childress, and Olivia Lin. Adam Lurie served as the supervising partner.

The ACLU of Louisiana’s Justice Lab: Putting Racist Policing on Trial is an intensive litigation and storytelling effort to challenge racially discriminatory policing practices and combat police violence against people of color. The campaign enlists law firms and law school legal clinics in bringing cases challenging racially-motivated stops and seizures under the Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments and any other applicable laws.

Jonathan Gafni named as one of 2022’s Top Advisors by Foreign Investment Watch

Mi, 23.03.2022 - 00:30

Linklaters Head of U.S. Foreign Investment, Jonathan Gafni has been named to Foreign Investment Watch’s Top Advisors List for a third consecutive year.  

 

The list highlights the top lawyers who provide legal advice on national security reviews of foreign investments in the U.S. and abroad. The editorial rankings were based on criteria that included experience, reputation, clients served, first-person interviews, references, reader recommendations and articles published.

 

Jonathan is cited for having “been deeply involved in numerous high-profile CFIUS cases involving companies in France, Finland, Germany, China, Singapore, and others.”

 

It is mentioned that in his previous role as Deputy National Intelligence Officer for CFIUS Support at the Office of the Director of National Intelligence, Jonathan led the U.S. Intelligence Community's work with CFIUS and directed the preparation of national security threat analyses of more than 500 cross-border transactions.

 

Foreign Investment Watch points to Jonathan’s well-rounded education and the combination of having both private-sector and government roles as “providing him unique insight and perspective on cross-border transactions.”

 

Jonathan has since built his practice on representing domestic and international clients before CFIUS and other U.S. government authorities responsible for cross-border investment controls.

 

Foreign Investment Watch is an independent media company focused on national security and foreign investment in the U.S. and abroad.

 

Click HERE to view the full list.

Linklaters partners with BRYTER to accelerate innovations in the delivery of legal advice

Do, 17.03.2022 - 13:19

Linklaters has partnered with BRYTER, a no-code automation platform, on a series of global initiatives to accelerate the delivery of legal advice and other services to clients in new and innovative ways.

The partnership, which is being led by newly appointed Global Head of Practice Innovation, Greg Baker, and the firm’s global practice innovation team, has already delivered a number of client solutions and continues to look for potential areas for digitisation across the firm’s global practice areas on key legal and regulatory topics.

Extending across various areas of delivery, the partnership is aiding the development of client-facing technology, the improvement of internal workflows and the provision of pro bono support offered to local and global communities. 

Collaborating on ideas across a global network  

Responding to increasing demands from clients to deliver advice in innovative formats, Linklaters launched its first Global Hackathon in collaboration with BRYTER earlier this year. 

The Hackathon aimed to harness ideas from across the firm to make tangible improvements to both the client experience and the firm’s lawyers.

Split into four stages, the Hackathon allowed participants to leverage the BRYTER platform to build client-facing digital applications and prototypes without having to write any code. 

With lawyers and other professionals submitting ideas from offices across the global network, the firm has three multi-disciplinary teams working alongside BRYTER specialists to build prototypes of their solutions before presenting to a panel of judges.

Greg Baker, commented:

“As we continue to identify areas across the firm that are ripe for innovation and disruption, BRYTER’s powerful and adaptable platform enables us to quickly prototype, test and identify the right development route for solutions created to make the lives of our clients and lawyers easier. The partnership is driven by the firm’s relentless drive to revolutionise the delivery of our services and focus on the client and lawyer experience."

Michael Grupp, CEO, BRYTER, commented: 

“We are thrilled to partner with Linklaters and support the firm in rapidly building and launching client facing applications. Law firms like Linklaters are at the very forefront of client service delivery precisely because they put their clients’, and their lawyers’, experience at the centre of everything they do, seeking to make it easier and faster to deliver legal services.”  

Helping global communities 

Alongside its practice innovation lawyers, Linklaters’ pro bono team is collaborating with Plan International, a global development and humanitarian organisation working to advance children’s rights and equality for girls, to bring some of its operations onto the BRYTER Open platform. The platform automates frequently used contracts, increasing the efficiency of Plan International’s internal processes and thereby reducing the workload of its legal team.

Georgia Williams, Pro Bono Lawyer, commented:

“Supporting our longstanding partner Plan International in using BRYTER Open is such an exciting way to amplify the impact of the organisation’s important work. Channelling the expertise of Linklaters’ innovation team into worthwhile pro bono projects and collaborating with BRYTER - which offers organisations like Plan International free access to its platform - will be a real game changer.”

A rapid response to dawn raids

Linklaters partnered with BRYTER at the end of 2021 to launch its Dawn Raid App, giving clients access to everything they need in the event of a dawn raid, so far covering 11 jurisdictions with guidance provided in 10 languages.

The multi-jurisdictional Dawn Raid App was built by the firm’s Practice Innovation lawyers in partnership with its Antitrust & Foreign Investment Group (AFIG), to support clients in the event of an unannounced inspection by antitrust authorities. 

The customisable tool capitalises on the dawn raid experiences and learnings of Linklaters’ experts worldwide to help teams manage a uniquely demanding crisis situation effectively and calmly – ensuring that everyone complies with their legal obligations.

In designing the tool, Emma Cochrane, BD Counsel – AFIG, commented:

“Unannounced inspections or dawn raids by antitrust authorities require a rapid and coordinated response. We've worked to make it straightforward to access and really easy for our clients to understand the first steps in the event of a dawn raid and when to get in contact with our AFIG lawyers, wherever they may be in the world."

The Dawn Raid App can be accessed here.

From leveraging leading technologies, to data and process mapping, Linklaters’ global practice innovation team prides itself on promoting the discovery, development and adoption of innovative ways of working, which improve the client and lawyer experience and increase efficiency. 

The team already works closely with CreateiQ, Linklaters’ own contract lifecycle management platform, used by over 200 of its clients to automate the drafting, negotiation and execution of contracts. The team hopes that the partnership with BRYTER is the natural next step to turn ideas into impactful client solutions.

Linklaters bolsters leveraged finance practice with triple partner hire in London

Di, 15.03.2022 - 11:32

Linklaters has expanded its Leveraged Finance practice with the appointment of three partners, Noel Hughes, Giacomo Reali and Christianne Williams, who join the group in London as market-leading high yield lawyers. This also marks the largest London-based team hire for the firm in recent years. 

The leading team of high yield attorneys join from Vinson & Elkins and bolster Linklaters’ already strong leveraged finance capability. This enhances the Leveraged Finance group’s ability to execute market-leading leveraged finance transactions seamlessly across Europe, advancing the firm’s strategy of representing leading financial institutions and financial sponsors on their most complex leveraged financing transactions. The three new partners join London-based US qualified high yield partners Alek Naidenov, Mark Hageman and Colin Chang, working alongside a team of nine English law leveraged finance partners covering both lender-side and sponsor-side mandates for a range of financial institutions, credit funds and private equity firms. 

Noel Hughes, who was Vinson & Elkins’ Head of Finance and M&A-Capital Markets in London, is a highly regarded practitioner in the leveraged finance market. Noel focuses on high yield bond financings and leveraged buyouts in a broad range of industries, both in the European and US markets. Noel has extensive experience guiding sponsors, issuers and investment banks through high-profile financings, including high-yield debt offerings, acquisition financings, debt liability management transactions and restructurings. 

Giacomo Reali, who is fluent in six languages, will primarily focus on the Italian market, working alongside Linklaters’ team in Milan, as well as supporting the firm’s Spanish and French Banking and Capital Markets teams with his high yield capability. Giacomo represents financial institutions, private equity sponsors, asset managers, and corporations in cross-border financing transactions, focusing on high-yield debt offerings, acquisition and bridge financings and preferred equity investments.  

Christianne Williams, who was counsel at Vinson & Elkins, focuses on international capital markets and cross-border leveraged finance transactions, with a particular emphasis on high-yield debt offerings. She has significant experience in high-yield financings for companies across Europe and emerging markets, with a particular expertise in the oil and gas, oilfield services, mining and natural resources sectors. Christianne also regularly advises on debt liability management transactions and restructurings.

Noel, Giacomo and Christianne’s combined skills complement the strength and depth of the Linklaters’ Leveraged Finance, Restructuring & Insolvency, Private Equity and Energy & Infrastructure practices, as well as the firm’s financial institution and financial investor relationships, a number of which the new partners have existing, strong connections with.  

Noel, Giacomo and Christianne will join the firm at the end of this month.

Andy Vickery, Global Head of Finance, commented:

“We are pleased to welcome Noel, Giacomo and Christianne, whose combined expertise and dynamic skillsets will greatly strengthen a targeted area of growth for our Banking practice. They bring experience that strongly complements that of our High Yield and Leveraged Finance teams, and we look forward to working closely with them on our enhanced service offering to a global client base.”

Linklaters’ Banking team advises banks and other financial institutions, companies and governments on domestic and international bank financing transactions across every industry, commercial, financial and governmental sector.

The firm’s High Yield group is fully integrated into its Banking and Private Equity practices and comprises lawyers with leading high yield and restructuring expertise, while its Leveraged Finance group is at the cutting edge of the market and continues to advise on some of the biggest, most complex and innovative global deals.

International Women's Day 2022

Di, 08.03.2022 - 10:58
Tuesday 8th March 2022 is International Women’s Day, a day when we come together to celebrate the achievements of women around the world and stand together to promote equality. The theme this year is #breakthebias – challenging us to take action to eradicate gender bias and discrimination.
 
At Linklaters we place diversity and inclusion at the heart of our culture and our values. We have built foundations that promote respect and reject all forms of prejudice and we are committed to driving positive and sustainable change. 
 
Inspired by the International Day of the Girl social media campaign #ThisLittleGirlisMe, we have been sharing a selection of short stories from some of the many inspiring women around the firm – from childhood to the present day – what motivates them, advice they would give to others and the allies that have influenced and championed them along the way. 

Update on Linklaters’ Russia-related work

Fr, 04.03.2022 - 21:14

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine is reprehensible and it is right that we stand together in condemning it. After careful consideration of our Russia-related work, our firm has now made the following decisions:

  1. We will wind down our operations in Russia and close our Moscow office. We will continue supporting our people there in the process, doing all we can to help them transfer to new roles within Linklaters or otherwise. We are grateful to our Moscow team for all their contributions and friendship since we opened the office in 1992.
  2. We will not act for individuals or entities that are controlled by, or under the influence of, the Russian state, or connected with the current Russian regime, wherever they are in the world.
  3. We will wind down existing work in accordance with our legal and professional obligations.
  4. We will continue to assist international clients in dealing with the implications of the current crisis and in unwinding their Russian business interests.

As the appalling war in Ukraine continues, our immediate thoughts remain with the Ukrainian people. We continue working to ensure that our colleagues and their families who are impacted are safe and have all the support they need.

Richard Smith Named to The National Trial Lawyers Top 100 List

Do, 03.03.2022 - 22:54

Linklaters is pleased to announce that partner Richard Smith has been selected by The National Trial Lawyers for inclusion into its Top 100 Criminal Defense Trial Lawyers in Washington, D.C.

Membership is by invitation only and is limited to the top 100 attorneys in each state or region who have demonstrated excellence and have achieved outstanding results in their careers in either civil plaintiff or criminal defense law. Richard was selected following a multi-phase process that includes peer nominations combined with third-party research that looks for superior qualifications, leadership skills, and trial results as a trial lawyer.

Richard is a seasoned white-collar defense attorney and an experienced trial attorney based in Linklaters’ Washington, D.C. office. His practice focuses on complex litigation, white-collar criminal defense, multilateral bank investigation, transactional and third-party due diligence, risk assessment, creation and review of anti-corruption policies and procedures, and internal investigations.


The National Trial Lawyers is a professional organization comprised of premier trial lawyers from across the country who have demonstrated exceptional qualifications in criminal defense or civil plaintiff law.

Richard Smith named among 2022’s Most Influential Black Lawyers by Savoy Magazine

Do, 24.02.2022 - 21:31

Linklaters partner Richard Smith has been named among Savoy Magazine’s “2022 Most Influential Black Lawyers”. The list recognizes top Black lawyers from leading national law firms and Fortune 1000 companies who have demonstrated exceptional achievement, expertise, and outstanding commitment to their communities.

 

Richard is a seasoned white-collar defense attorney and an experienced trial attorney based in Linklaters’ Washington, D.C. office. His practice focuses on complex litigation, white-collar criminal defense, multilateral bank investigation, transactional and third-party due diligence, risk assessment, creation and review of anti-corruption policies and procedures, and internal investigations.

 

Richard is also the Senior Sponsor for the firm’s U.S. Black professional network, dedicated to the advancement and professional development of its Black lawyers and employees. He also sits on the Board of Trustees at the University of Florida Law Center Association, Inc. and the Advisory Board at the University of Houston Law Center, Health Law & Policy Institute.

 

Adam Lurie, head of Linklaters’ U.S. Dispute Resolution Practice and Washington, D.C. office, commented: “Richard is well-deserving of this important distinction. He is an outstanding lawyer who uses his exceptional advocacy skills to obtain the best results for our clients and invest in the development of our young attorneys. Richard’s deep expertise and mentorship have been greatly beneficial to Linklaters and the teams he works with.”

 

Richard was previously recognized by Savoy as one of the “Most Influential Black Lawyers” in its inaugural list in 2018.

View Richard’s full profile in Savoy Magazine HERE.

Linklaters receives Gold Award for commitment to LBGT+ inclusivity

Mi, 23.02.2022 - 11:48

Linklaters has been recognised as a leading UK employer for LGBT+ inclusion, receiving a Gold Award for its commitment to inclusivity in the workplace, and named a Top 100 Employer in the UK for LGBT+ people.

 

Angela Ogilvie, Linklaters’ Chief HR Officer and Executive Committee LGBT+ Champion, comments: “We are committed to creating an environment of inclusion and belonging for everyone at Linklaters. We want to be home to a culture where bringing your whole self to work is celebrated and individuals feel comfortable to be themselves and able to perform at their best.”

 

The accolades come from LGBT+ equality charity Stonewall’s Bring Yourself to Work campaign, which highlights the importance of inclusive workplaces. As part of the campaign, Linklaters has been ranked 53rd in Stonewall’s Top 100 Employers List for LGBT+ people, recognising commitments to creating welcoming environments for lesbian, gay, bi, trans and queer staff.

 

Organisations are judged based on a set of standardised criteria, which includes ensuring HR policies are inclusive of LGBT+ people, as well as, supporting and celebrating LGBT+ identities at work.

 

Find more information on Linklaters’ global Diversity & Inclusion strategy across its six core strands of diversity, including gender, race & ethnicity, social mobility, age & life stage, LGBT+ and disability, here.

Linklaters’ Global Debt Capital Markets practice ranked top in 2021 league tables

Fr, 04.02.2022 - 11:42

Linklaters has been recognised as the top adviser for bond issuances globally and in Europe, according to the latest set of legal advisor rankings published by Refinitiv and Bloomberg for 2021.

Highlights include:

  • Ranked number 1 in volume of deals for Issuers – Refinitiv (Global Bonds)
  • Ranked number 1 in volume and number of deals for Managers – Refinitiv (Global Bonds)
  • Ranked number 1 in volume for Managers – Bloomberg (European Bonds)

Linklaters’ global debt capital markets team has unparalleled international experience of structuring and executing the largest, most innovative and complex debt transactions in the world. The team has expertise across the whole suite of debt capital markets products including eurobonds, debt issuance programmes, equity-linked products, regulatory capital work, liability management, ESG debt, high yield and sovereign offerings.

The firm has a pre-eminent transactional track record across the established markets of the Americas, Asia, Europe and the Middle East and in the world’s emerging economies.

Recent high-profile deals the firm’s practice worked on include advising the Republic of Chile on its US$4bn sustainable bond offering, the People’s Bank of China on its RMB 5bn bills in Hong Kong SAR and AXA Logistics Europe Fund in relation to its inaugural issuance of Green Bonds.

Linklaters strengthens Capital Markets practice in Amsterdam with the hire of Hugo van der Molen

Mo, 31.01.2022 - 04:04

On 1 February 2022, Hugo van der Molen will be joining as counsel in the Capital Markets practice in the Amsterdam office of global law firm Linklaters.

Linklaters’ market-leading Capital Markets practice is led by Pim Horsten (Partner, DCM focus) and Alexander Harmse (Partner, ECM focus). Linklaters is the only magic circle firm in the Netherlands that has a combined debt and equity capital markets practice. The arrival of Hugo represents a significant strengthening of the firm’s expanding capital markets practice in the country.

Hugo has over 10 years’ experience advising financial institutions and large corporate issuers on international debt capital markets transactions and the changing regulatory landscape. Hugo specialises in a wide range of international capital markets offerings, including (hybrid) capital issued for banks, insurers and corporate issuers, EMTN programmes, Green/ESG bonds, securitisations and trade receivables financings. Hugo has been identified as an ‘associate to watch' and ‘rising star’ by Chambers and IFLR respectively and as a ‘Tier 1 key lawyer’ by Legal 500.

Recently, Hugo advised the Joint Lead Managers on LeasePlan Corporation N.V.'s on the issuance of €1bn Green Bonds and ABN AMRO on the issuance of €1bn Additional Tier 1 Capital Securities.

Pim Horsten and Alexander Harmse said:

"Hugo is an expert in Debt Capital Markets transactions and his extensive experience and knowledge will be of great value to our clients. We are therefore delighted to announce Hugo’s arrival. In addition to the rejoining of Xu Wang (Managing Associate) in August last year, this is another important step in growing our successful Amsterdam Capital Markets practice.”